ARTICLE 5. EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

- **5.1 Purpose.** The executive committee is the board of directors of the Conference, and the members of the executive committee are the directors. The executive committee shall act on behalf of the Conference membership between sessions.
- 5.2 <u>Composition.</u> The executive committee shall be composed of thirty-one (31) members and shall proportionately reflect the ethnic composition of this Conference and provide for representation of the regions within this Conference. It shall include the president, the executive secretary, the treasurer, the executive vice president, the vice president for education and the region directors. The balance shall be divided among five (5) denominational employees (one (1) from each region) and sixteen (16) lay persons who are not employed by the denomination. For purposes of this section, not more than one (1) nonemployee spouse of a denominational employee may serve on the executive committee, and in the event of such a selection, that person may be designated either in the category of a denominational employee or a layperson. The overall composition of the lay membership shall be gender-inclusive.
- **Qualifications.** Any person nominated and elected to serve as a member of the executive committee shall be or shall become a member of a constituent church and shall remain a member in good standing during his/her term of office. Any member who is absent from a duly called meeting of the executive committee three (3) times in one (1) year or eight (8) times during his/her term of office shall cease to be qualified to serve as a member but might be re-elected by the executive committee upon a showing of good cause. At least five (5) of all non-administrative members shall, if possible, be re-elected at each session. Each member is expected to have the ability to receive e-mail and other electronic communications and have regular access to the Internet.
- 5.4 <u>Election and Term of Office</u>. The members of the executive committee shall be elected at the regular session of this Conference and shall hold office until their successors are elected and assume their duties. No non-administrative member shall serve more than two (2) consecutive terms.